Fast creativity like fast food

Normally I take more time to prepare a painting and then paint it. But sometimes it is nice to have some ‘fast creativity’. Instead of looking for a recipe and adjust it to my own taste, buy groceries and cook, I buy some fast food. It is quick and fills the stomic. This so called fast creativity fulfills my need to make something nice and it costs very little time. I bought a magazine with suggestions for ‘fast creativity’ and it contained a leaflet with windowstickers. So I took them and put them on my kitchen closet. It took just 5 minutes and the first thing my daughter said when she got home: ‘Mom did you put those cute stickers on the closet? Nice!’. You see, it does not take always a long creative process to make something people like ;).

– * – * –

Normaal neem ik de tijd om een schilderij voor te bereiden en het vervolgens te schilderen. Maar soms is het wel eens lekker om wat ‘fast creativity’ te hebben. In plaats van een recept zoeken, boodschappen doen, aanpassen aan je eigen smaak en koken, koop ik fast food. Het is snel en het vult de maag. Deze zogenaamde ‘fast creativity’ vervult mijn behoefte om iets leuks of moois te maken en het kost weinig tijd. Ik kocht het tijdschrift Flow, waar altijd suggesties in staan voor ‘fast creativity’ en deze Flow bevatte een vel met raamstickers. Dus ik heb ze uit het blad gehaald en op mijn keukenkast geplakt. Het kostte me maar 5 minuten en het eerste wat mijn dochter zei toen ze thuis kwam: ‘Mam, heb jij deze schattige stickers op de kast geplakt? Leuk!’ Je ziet, er is niet altijd een lang creatief proces nodig om iets te maken wat mensen leuk vinden. 😉

Leave a Reply

