Collage Liberation

I translated the mindmap with words to images. The keywords are

sacrifice – loss – victory – freedom – trust – build.

Although I never really studied this subject (except for mhy history lessons at school of course), I now really can imagine how the people felt then. I focussed on Nijmegen, so the bridge of Nijmegen and some ruined buildings are also in the painting. When veterans or people from Nijmegen see my painting, they will recognize the images. Special detail is that Nijmegen is my place of birth. I didn’t grew up in this town, so this project is a way to kind of connect with it.

* – * – *

Ik heb de mindmap van woorden naar plaatjes vertaald. The sleutelwoorden zijn

offer – verlies – overwinning – vrijheid – vertrouwen – bouwen.

Hoewel ik me nooit echt verdiept heb in dit onderwerp (behalve mijn geschiedenislessen op school natuurlijk), kan ik mij nu echt voorstellen hoe de mensen zich toen voelden. Ik heb gefocust op Nijmegen, dus de brug van Nijmegen en enkele vernietigde gebouwen zijn ook in het schilderij. Als er veteranen of oude Nijmegenaren mijn schilderij zien, zullen ze de plaatsen herkennen. Bijzonder detail is dat ik in Nijmegen geboren ben, maar ik ben er niet opgegroeid. Zo verbind ik mij toch op de een of andere manier met deze stad.

 

Leave a Reply

