Existential questions

I was raised with the belief that the purpose in life was to help others and be therefore useful. And I still help others with all my heart. The last few years I was grown to the opinion that there is no purpose in life and that we are free to do what we want, because there is no reason for existance.  That changed this week.

In the course, I was telling you about yesterday, one of the trainers gave a presentation with the famous old tiles with proverbs that are outdated and securities of our grandparents aren’t securities anymore these days. Think about having a job for life or having a morgage paid off. Time for new proverbs and new securities. That is why I used the old tile to make new proverbs. One of them is the above. I received the tip to read the book ‘Creationspiral’ by Marinus Knoope to realize my dream, becoming a professional painter. I happened to have bought this book a few years back, but it was collecting dust in my bookcloset. Time to start reading!

I started reading and couldn’t stop, because he is talking about the same questions: why are we here on this earth? And he states we are here to realize our dreams. It may seem selfish, but if you realize you are born with this dream, it must be predestined. On the other hand, you can say we can create our own future and therefore we decide our own destiny. It is a difficult case and I am not sure what to think of it, but I like the idea that my destiny is my dream. So I am going to place this tile on my toilet. (where our ancestors placed these tiles).

– * – * –

Ik ben opgevoed met de overtuiging dat het doel in leven is om anderen te helpen en daardoor nuttig te zijn. Ik help nog steeds anderen met veel plezier, maar in de loop van de tijd heb ik de mening ontwikkeld dat er geen doel in het leven is en dat we vrij zijn om te doen wat we willen, omdat er geen specifieke reden is voor ons bestaan. Dat veranderde deze week.

In de cursus waar ik gisteren over schreef, gaf een van de trainers een presentatie met de beroemde truttige tegeltjes met spreekwoorden die nu achterhaald zijn. De zekerheden van onze grootouders zijn tegenwoordig geen zekerheden meer. Denk maar aan een baan voor het leven of een afbetaalde hypotheek. Dat kun je je nu niet meer voorstellen. Het is tijd voor nieuwe spreekwoorden en nieuwe zekerheden. Daarom heb ik dit tegeltje hieronder/boven gemaakt. Ik kreeg de tip om het boek Creatiespiraal van Marinus Knoopte te lezen. Laat ik die nou een paar jaar geleden gekocht hebben, hij staat stof te vangen in de boekenkast. Tijd om het te gaan lezen!

Ik begon te lezen en ik kon niet stoppen, omdat hij schrijft over dezelfde vragen: waarom zijn we hier op deze aarde? Hij schrijft dat we hier zijn om onze dromen te realiseren. Dat lijkt egoïstisch, maar als je je realiseert dat we geboren zijn met deze dromen, kan het ook wel eens voorbestemd zijn. Het is een moeilijk vraagstuk en ik ben nog niet zeker wat ik er van moet denken, maar het idee dat mijn doel in het leven mijn droom is, spreekt mij aan. Dus ik ga deze tegel maar op mijn toilet een plekje geven, waar onze grootouders hun tegeltjes ook hadden hangen.

truttig tegeltje2

One thought on “Existential questions

Leave a Reply

