Professional painter

Last week I participated in a course for creative entrepreneurs. I am participating as a trainer on the area of marketing, but also als a trainee for becoming a professional painter. It was a very enlightning day with al the other participants. I am raised with the saying: first do what is needed, then what is useful and then the pleasant things. Well, painting is pleasant and painting will always come last. I realized I did not take my painting seriously enough and someone said: ‘If you don’t take yourself seriously, no one will.’ And he was right. What was I doing?

Ok, I am blogging and painting, but that’s it. So it was time to take my painting seriously and look at it as an professional occupation. I applied for ‘Koopkunst.com’ (that means buy art) and I have an interview with the owner of the site who is going to visit me in my studio! There haven’t been any visitors yet, but family. You understand: it is very exciting. I also subscribed for an art fair the 10th of May and that is very soon. So now I have to make leaflets and organize some stuff to show my paintings in a beautiful way. Brrr it is getting real now!!

Next week I am going to shut myself in my studio for thinking about my branding, my value proposition and my customer profiles, as a marketeer I must use my knowledge to make it really professional.

– * – * –

Vorige week nam ik deel aan de cursus Tiramisu voor creatieve ondernemers. Ik neem deel als trainer voor het marketingdeel, maar als deelnemer om een professionele schilder te worden. Het was een erg inspirerende en verhelderende dag met alle deelnemers. Ik ben opgevoed met de wijsheid: ‘Eerst het nodige, dan het nuttige en dan pas het aangename’. Schilderen is voor mij aangenaam en dus zal schilderen altijd op de laatste plaats komen. Ik realiseerde me dat ik mijn schilderen niet serieus nam en iemand zei: ‘Als jij jezelf niet serieus neemt, zal niemand dat doen’. En hij had gelijk. Waar was ik mee bezig?

Ok ik blog wel en ik schilder, maar dat is het. Dus het was tijd om mijn schilderen serieus te nemen en ernaar te kijken als een professioneel beroep. Ik heb me aangemeld voor Koopkunst.com en ik heb nu een afspraak met de eigenaar, die mij in mijn schilderhoek komt bezoeken! Daar is nog niemand geweest, behalve familie. Je begrijpt dat dat heel spannend is. Ik heb me ook opgegeven voor een kunstmarkt op 10 mei en dat is al heel vlug. Nu moet ik folders maken en spullen organiseren om mijn schilderijen mooi te etaleren. Brrr het wordt nu wel erg echt allemaal!

Volgende week ga ik mijzelf opsluiten om na te denken over mijn branding, waardepropositie en klantprofielen. Als marketeer moet ik mijn kennis gebruiken om het echt professioneel te maken.

Leave a Reply

