Meditating figure

Canvass, 60×80 cm, acrylic paint, 2013

A few years ago I torn a page out of the Happinez (a Dutch magazine) which inspired me. It was taped a long time on the closet next to my bed to remind my to keep my inner peace (a reminder a need very much, haha). I decided to paint it with its bright colours.

This statue is made by Niki de Saint Phalle, a French painter and scultpurer.

I added a bit of my own experience with the yoga exercise to let the energy flow along the spine up to the sky and down to the earth. When inhaling, you feel the light coming into your body from the sky and when exhaling the warmth and passion from the earth enters the body from beneath. When you do this some time, you will feel lighter and finally enlightened. The eyes are on the place of the chackra’s.

I painted with a spatula. I was very busy exploding with the colours and applying them on the canvas, that I forgot to notice that there were shadows and depth. I succeeded to save some effect with making the legs and arms round and saved the painting, but it is still not the way it should be. So my intention is to make another meditating figure like this in pastel-colours and pay more attention to shadows and depth.
Buy
You can buy this painting on Etsy.
Leave a Reply

